PERSIST (Post Sept) – Post Six-Hundred-Sixty-Seven

Persist. Persist. Persist.

Keep moving forward. Haven’t you heard the saying, “The squeaky wheel gets oiled”? I have. A hundred times. Thanks to my mum and my grandma. Every time I’d apply for a job that I really wanted, they would both say this.

So, if we can persist with our job opportunities, we can persist with our dreams. It saddens me to hear stories of how you dreamed to become this or that, and you gave up. Persistence is key. The author of “The Help” is a great example. She was turned down countless times. She was told move on to the next one over and over again. Yet she didn’t. Now her novel is a best-seller and a major motion picture.

Now, if we can persist for dreams, then why can’t we persist when it comes to other areas of our lives? Why not persist to change ourselves? We have so many flaws, and there are many of us who complain about them. We are not always blind to our iniquities. Instead of using words and then having to apologize again because there was no action behind the words, can’t we persist change? Pursue it. Hunt it down until you catch hold of it.

Persist: [per-sist, -zist]

1. to continue steadfastly or firmly in some state, purpose,course of action, or the like, especially in spite of opposition,remonstrance, etc.
2. to last or endure tenaciously
3. to be insistent in a statement, request, question, etc.

In spite of our habitual nature; in spite of our countless flaws, we should obstinately fight our second nature in order to become who we want to be. We should stubbornly persist to change ourselves in ways that will only help us grow.

We should not allow excuses to take hold of our lives.

From now on, I’m taking a stand against myself.

I will change through God what He sees fit to be changed.

I will persistently pursue these efforts on a daily basis.

And, through my persistence, through my obstinance and tenacious efforts, I will succeed.

How? Because I gave it all to Him.

Au revoir,

Gigi

Leave a Reply

