Take Care of This Moment (Post Cinq) – Post Six-Hundred-Sixty-Three

“I am concerned with taking care of the present. God has given me no control over the moment following.” ~ Ghandi

To be completely honest I had to look this one up. I had a gist of what it could mean, but my idea was a humid mirror that you can’t see through. I looked up whatever else Ghandi said about it, and this is what stuck out to me.

God has given me no control over the moment following.

Something I’ve found is hard to practice is living in this moment. Living in the present. It’s hard not to think back on the past; what I could have done differently, what happened and the affect of it all. It’s also not easy to leave the future where it belongs: in Tomorrow. Especially lately with the changes at my current job, it’s very tempting to daydream about what could happen. How am I going to pay for these bills? Am I going to have to defer my loan a second time? So many possibilities; so many different aspects of what could possibly happen.

Pick the day. Enjoy it – to the hilt. The day as it comes. People as they come… The past, I think, has helped me appreciate the present – and I don’t want to spoil any of it by fretting about the future.” ~ Audrey Hepburn

If I dwell too much on tomorrow or what happened yesterday, I will lose those precious few moments of today. I’ll lose the joy of seeing his smile. I’ll miss out on the pleasure of meeting a friendly stranger who alters my way of thinking.
For a moment I think back to just last July when all I did was live in this moment. I had come up to Portland to find a job and to enjoy my home. I went down to the Hawthorne district for the first time and met a guy named Ace. He was as short as I was. He was sweet, humble, and had an interesting perspective on things. We talked, browsed Powell’s while I waited for Chris to come meet me, and just enjoyed the moment. He was one of the most interesting people I have ever met, but what I remember most about that day is that I felt no fear. I did not allow myself to focus on tomorrow or yesterday. I simply enjoyed the spontaneous joy of what was happening. Once Chris came, we parted, and I haven’t seen nor spoken to Ace since. I’ll never forget the simplicity of the spontaneity, though.

I don’t do that anymore. I don’t just hop on a bus and go somewhere and enjoy the moment. I’m either too tired or busy. Where did that spontaneous enjoy-the-moment me go? I have no idea, but I want her back.

Don’t make the same mistake that 99% of us make. Don’t forget about today. Enjoy your child TODAY. They are growing. Enjoy your husband, your friends; love anything and everything and appreciate everything that God puts in your path, because you will never get anything like it again.

Everything is once. This is a one time moment that you can never get back. Take care of it. Make it something you’ll never forget; stories to tell your children, which will then create more moments for you all to remember. Never give up on a chance; never let it pass you by. Follow your gut, and if you have a moment to breathe, enjoy it. Hold his hand. Kiss her forehead. Laugh. Take a random trip to the beach.

Just do it.

Au revoir,

Gigi

Leave a Reply

