You Are In Control (Post Deux) – Post Six-Hundred-Sixty

“The 3 C’s of life: choices, chances and changes. You must make a choice to take a chance or your life will never change.” (Photo credit: deeplifequotes)

You are in control.
You are in control.
You are in control.
You are in control.

Hm. I wonder what this could mean.

I suppose it depends on how you take it. How you read it. How it feels to you.
To me it doesn’t mean that I control everything that happens. It doesn’t mean that I get to go into control freak mode and do as I please so that everything will go as I like it. To me, it means that I control my actions. I am in control of my reactions, my thoughts, what I do, what I say, and only that. And that also means that I am in control of what I don’t do.

I am in control of myself. I am in control of the choices I make. That leaves no room for me to blame anyone else for the outcome of my own decisions. Which also leaves no room for excuses.

What I am NOT in control of is the outcome. I am not in control of outside factors. This relieves me of the stress of “did I not do everything I could?” As long as I control my own actions, mind my own decisions, and always strive to do God’s will rather than my own, I will always know that I did everything I could.

Another thing I am in control of: My happiness. No, it’s not my spouse. It’s me. My happiness depends on what I choose: to be happy or not.
Maybe I feel I don’t have enough. Maybe I feel I deserve more than what I have. Doesn’t this feeling make me unhappy?
What about this: The happiest people don’t necessarily have the best of everything; they just make the best of everything they have. Why not choose to make the best of everything I have? Making the best of the circumstances surrounding me that I cannot control in turn gives me control over my happiness.

"Understand that dealing with life is rea...

“Understand that dealing with life is really a matter of personal choice, so choose to be happy. Find joy in the simplest things, and see beauty in each person you meet. And when times are difficult, just remind yourself that… no pain comes to you witho (Photo credit: deeplifequotes)

So, doesn’t this mean I’m in control of my daily decision of Christ’s way or my way? Yes. Whether I follow His way or not is my own fault. I cannot blame it on what happens in my life, or how busy I am, or how tired I am, or any other silly excuse I can come up with. It is my choice to make time for my relationship with Christ and, more often than not (which I hate admitting,) I choose not to make time for Him.

How selfish can I be? So what if I’m tired? Pick it up anyway. I’m in control of my body. I’m in control of my decisions, of my life, and this is what I choose: I choose to give the control over to Him. He is the one who needs to be in control, because He knows what’s best for me.

Now, what about our dreams. Think about it. Realistically, how often do we go after our dreams? Rarely. Slim to none. We come up with these excuses (there they are again) of why it won’t work. Logistics, we call them. Logically, you can’t support a family with just writing. Logically, you have a very slim chance of inventing something they will buy. Logically, your voice will not stand out among the thousands they hear.
Logically, I say try anyway. Dream anyway. You are in control of this chance. You are in control of trying to move forward, of giving it your all. You don’t know what the outcome will be, but no matter what you will know that you tried and made the choice to give it a chance to happen.
Logically, if you’re making the choice to give the control up to Jesus, and suddenly you have a desire to travel to some rural country, or a dream to start a heavy-duty project, maybe that’s a hint. Maybe that’s God telling you ‘this is your dream.’ Haven’t you heard that when you put Him first He instills the desires of His heart for your life in you? Instead of saying no, give it to Him and ask Him for an answer. You’re in control. Make the choice to give the dream a chance.

So, conclusion: I am in control of my actions. No one makes my choices for me, but I can make the choice to give them to God. I’m going to choose to be happy, no matter what’s going on around me because I make the best of everything I have. I’m going to dream anyway, no matter what logic says, but I’m always going to lay my dreams at the feet of God for Him to decide what is for me.

Simple enough?

Au revoir,

Gigi

Leave a Reply

