Pi is Endless – Post Six-Hundred-Forty-Eight

So, as you know, I was reading ‘Life of Pi’ for the BBC 100 book list. I have to say it was the most amazing book I’ve read thus far. And I just found out that a movie is coming out this November for it! Oh please, Ang Lee, I beg of you: DO THIS BOOK JUSTICE! 

Ahem. Anyway. Moving on . . .

If you don’t know already, the book revolves around a young boy who is stranded in the Pacific ocean with a Bengal tiger named Richard Parker. Not even kidding. Does that not sound phenomenal? It starts off with a man wandering all over India. He meets a man who tells him “Let me tell you a story that will make you believe in God.” What? Really? I believe the man wandering was an atheist, so I’m sure he was a bit skeptical about a story being able to sway him so powerfully to the opposite side of his faithless spectrum.

The end . . . was bottomless. It was never-ending. As one of the critics’ said, it makes you not want to stop reading once the pages run out. Seriously . . . I suggest you read this.

So, I read ‘Life of Pi’. I went from phenomenal book to a dreadfully boring and frustrating ‘classic’ called ‘Vanity Fair’ by William Makepeace Thackeray. I’m having such a hard time with this book that I almost want to just throw it out the window and move on. At least in this last chapter it took on an interesting turn of events that is slightly more amusing than everything else that has gone on.
Can anyone tell me why ‘Vanity Fair’ is a classic? I’m not being rhetorical; I just can’t seem to find a reason as to why it’s so great. I shall drudge on, though!

Au revoir,

Gigi 

Leave a Reply

